Classical languages are those which are ancient, of an independent nature and not a derivative of any other tradition. A language must have a history of minimum 1500 years to grant the Classical status. The status of classical language is provided by Ministry of Tourism & Culture(G.O.I.).
At present there are six classical languages:
  • Tamil-(First Classical Language,2004)
  • Sanskrit-(2005)
  • Kannada-(2008)
  • Telugu-(2008)
  • Malayalam-(2013)
  • Odiya-(Latest and Sixth Classical Language,2014 )

*Five classical languages in the world — Chinese, Sanskrit, Arabic, Greek and Latin.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...