Tropical Deciduous Forest |  Sectors of Indian Economy |  How Legislative Council is Formed |  Insectivorous Plants |  Causes of Revolt of 1857 in Points |  Ordinance Making Power of President and Governors |  Mangroves Cover in India |  Coral Reefs in India |  Seasons and Climate in India |  Constitutional and Statutory Bodies in India |  Rock Edicts of Ashoka |  Types of Motions in Parliamentary Procedure |  Types of Majorities in Parliament |  Pressure Groups in World and India |  Order of Precedence |  Types of Rocks |  Treaties in Indian History |  Types of Rocks |  Features of Indian Economy |  Geographical Indications |  Ancient History Terminology and Meanings |  Schedules of the Constitution |  Nuclear Power Plants in India List  |  Types of Clouds for SSC CGL | Nuclear Power Plants in India ListTypes of Ocean CurrentsStructure: Layers of EarthAPPSC Group 1 Answer KeySSC JE 2017 QUESTION PAPEROne Word Substitution for SSC and Bank ExamsMPSC Answer Key 2017 2017Layers of AtmosphereMPSC Answer Key 2017 2017BPSC Solved Question Paper 2017MPPSC Solved Question Paper 2017GST Bill IndiaDelhi SultanateLaw Commission of IndiaOscar Awards Winner 2017 ListDiseases in CropsCommon Drugs and UsesDifferent Types of Deserts in WorldUPSC Civil Services Exam-2016 Answer KeyUPSC CAPF Exam-2016 Answer Key | UPPSC UPPER Subordinate Exam-2016 Answer Key | Regulatory BodiesNational Parks in India | International Airports in India  | United Nation International Years National Highways | National Birds of Countries | Sessions of Congress  | Facts About Kerala

Indian Defence Forces

The Indian Armed Forces are the military forces of the Republic of India. It consists of three professional uniformed services: the Indian Army, Indian Navy, and Indian Air Force. Additionally, the Indian Armed Forces are supported by three paramilitary organisations (Assam Rifles, Indian Coast Guard and Special Frontier Force) and various inter-service institutions such as the Strategic Forces Command.
·The President of India is the (de jure) Supreme Commander of the Indian Armed Forces.
·The Indian Armed Forces are under the management of the Ministry of Defence (MoD), which is led by the Union Cabinet Minister of Defence.
·With strength of over 1.3 million active personnel, it is world's 3rd largest military force and has the world's largest volunteer army.
·The headquarters of the Indian Armed Forces is in New Delhi, the capital city of India.

Indian Army भारतीय थलसेना

1 April 1895
“Service Before Self”
New Delhi
Army day 15 January
Chief of Army Staff
Dalbir Singh Suhag
·The primary mission of the Indian Army is to ensure national security and unity, defending the nation from external aggression and threats, and maintaining peace and security within its borders
·It conducts humanitarian rescue operations during natural calamities and other disturbances, like Operation Surya Hope, and can also be requisitioned by the government to cope with internal threats.
·     Indian Army is organised into seven commands. Here is the list of Seven Commands of Indian Army and their headquarters.
Command Name
Headquarters, Indian Army
New Delhi
Central Command
LucknowUttar Pradesh
Eastern Command
KolkataWest Bengal
Northern Command
UdhampurJammu and Kashmir
Southern Command
South Western Command
Western Command
Training Command
ShimlaHimachal Pradesh

Indian Navy भारतीय नौसेना

Founded in
New Delhi
“Shan Oh Varunah”

(May the Lord of the Water be auspicious unto us)
Navy Day: 4 December
Chief of Naval Staff (CNS)
Admiral RK Dhowan

·The primary objective of the navy is to secure the nation's maritime borders.
· India also uses its navy to enhance its international relations through joint exercises, port visits and humanitarian missions, including disaster relief.
· Indian Navy has three commands each headed by Flag Officer Commanding in Chief. Here is the List of three Command of Indian Navy and their headquarters.

HQ Location
Western Naval Command
Eastern Naval Command
Southern Naval Command

Indian Air-Force भारतीय वायु सेना

8 October 1932
New Delhi
"नभःस्पृशं दीप्तम्" (Touch the Sky with Glory)
Air Force Day: 8 October
Chief of Air Staff
Air Chief Marshal Arup Raha
·Indian Air-Force the World's 4th largest Air-force.
·Its primary responsibility is to secure Indian airspace and to conduct aerial warfare during a conflict.
·Air-Force is organised into five operational and two functional commands. Here is the list of Operational and functional commands of Indian Air Force and their headquarters.
Operational Commands
Central Air Command (CAC)
Allahabad, Uttar Pradesh
Eastern Air Command (EAC)
Shillong, Meghalaya
Southern Air Command (SAC)
Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala
South Western Air Command (SWAC)
Gandhinagar, Gujarat
Western Air Command (WAC)
New Delhi
Functional Commands
Training Command (TC)
Bangalore, Karnataka
Maintenance Command (MC)
Nagpur, Maharashtra

Do you know:
The chiefs (Chief of the Army Staff, Chief of the Naval Staff and Chief of the Air staff) of all three armed forces are appointed by the president of India for a term of 3 years or at the age of 62 whichever is earlier.

Related Posts