IUCN Red List

·The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species (also known as the IUCN Red List or Red Data List), founded in 1964, is the world's most comprehensive inventory of the global conservation status of biological species.
·The International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN) is the world's main authority on the conservation status of species.
·A series of Regional Red Lists are produced by countries or organizations, which assess the risk of extinction to species within a political management unit.
·As per the relative risk of extinction, the red data list contains 7 categories. There are categories given below along with some Indian species.
Extinct (EX) – No known individuals remaining.
Extinct in the wild (EW) – Known only to survive in captivity, or as a naturalized population outside its historic range.
Critically endangered (CR) – Extremely high risk of extinction in the wild.
Endangered (EN) – High risk of extinction in the wild.
Vulnerable (VU) – High risk of endangerment in the wild.
Near threatened (NT) – Likely to become endangered in the near future.
Least concern (LC) – Lowest risk. Does not qualify for a more at risk category. Widespread and abundant taxa are included in this category.
List of Indian Species Under Different Categories of IUCN Red List-2014 :
Some Indian Species
Least concern (LC)
Salt Water Crocodile, Indian Fox
Near threatened (NT)
Vulnerable (VU)
One Horn Rhiniceros
Endangered (EN)
Tiger, Gangetic Dolphin, Olive Ridley, Sea Turtle, Lion Tailed Macaque* ,Snow Leopard, Dugong, Hoolock Gibbon, Red Panda, Asiatic Lion, Asiatic Wild Ass, Flying Fox
Critically endangered (CR)
Flying Squirrel, Pygmy Hog, Great Indian Bustard, Jerdon’s Courser, Siberian Crane, Leatherback Sea Turtle, Gharial, Indian Vulture
Extinct in the wild (EW)
Extinct (EX)
Indian Cheetah
See also:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...