Sport: Tennis

· Tennis is a racket sport that can be played individually against a single opponent (singles) or between two teams of two players each (doubles).
· The modern game of tennis originated in Birmingham, England, in the late 19th century as "lawn tennis".
· Tournaments are often organized by gender and number of players. Common tournament configurations include men's singles, women's singles, and doubles, where two players play on each side of the net.
· The Grand Slam tournaments, also called majors, are the four most important annual tennis events.
· The four Grand Slam tournaments are considered to be the most prestigious tennis events in the world. They are held annually and comprise, in chronological order, the Australian Open, the French Open, Wimbledon, and the US Open. They are regulated by the International Tennis Federation (ITF).
· Winning the Grand Slam means player has won all four tournaments in the same year.
· The Championships, Wimbledon, commonly known as "Wimbledon", is the oldest tennis tournament in the world, and is widely considered the most prestigious.

· The French Open, often referred to as Roland Garros.
Grand Slam Tournaments
Prize Money
1st Held
Australian Open
Hard (Plexicushion)
French Open
US Open
New York City
Hard (DecoTurf)
US$ $38,251,760

· At Roland Garros or French Open, the score is announced in French, at the other three majors, in English.
· Roland Garros or French Open is played in Paris, which is farthest from a sea or ocean
· Wimbledon in London, which is near the English Channel and the North Sea.
· Only at the Australian Open would players never be bothered by the sun in the southwest sky, because in the Southern Hemisphere outside the tropics, the sun is always somewhat to the north. At all four majors, the afternoon sun is always somewhat to the west, but only in the Northern Hemisphere is it also to the south.
· Wimbledon is played farthest from the equator, at a latitude of 51.5 degrees north. Roland Garros (French Open) is next farthest, at 48.9 degrees north, followed by the US Open at 40.7 degrees north and then the Australian Open at 37.8 degrees south.
· The Australian Open, in Melbourne, is played closest to the equator.
· Out of the four Grand Slam tennis tournaments, Wimbledon is the only one played on grass courts, the others being played on grass, hard as well as clay courts.

· All four Grand Slams are held in nations whose flags are red, white, and blue.
See also:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...