Tropical Deciduous Forest |  Sectors of Indian Economy |  How Legislative Council is Formed |  Insectivorous Plants |  Causes of Revolt of 1857 in Points |  Ordinance Making Power of President and Governors |  Mangroves Cover in India |  Coral Reefs in India |  Seasons and Climate in India |  Constitutional and Statutory Bodies in India |  Rock Edicts of Ashoka |  Types of Motions in Parliamentary Procedure |  Types of Majorities in Parliament |  Pressure Groups in World and India |  Order of Precedence |  Types of Rocks |  Treaties in Indian History |  Types of Rocks |  Features of Indian Economy |  Geographical Indications |  Ancient History Terminology and Meanings |  Schedules of the Constitution |  Nuclear Power Plants in India List  |  Types of Clouds for SSC CGL | Nuclear Power Plants in India ListTypes of Ocean CurrentsStructure: Layers of EarthAPPSC Group 1 Answer KeySSC JE 2017 QUESTION PAPEROne Word Substitution for SSC and Bank ExamsMPSC Answer Key 2017 2017Layers of AtmosphereMPSC Answer Key 2017 2017BPSC Solved Question Paper 2017MPPSC Solved Question Paper 2017GST Bill IndiaDelhi SultanateLaw Commission of IndiaOscar Awards Winner 2017 ListDiseases in CropsCommon Drugs and UsesDifferent Types of Deserts in WorldUPSC Civil Services Exam-2016 Answer KeyUPSC CAPF Exam-2016 Answer Key | UPPSC UPPER Subordinate Exam-2016 Answer Key | Regulatory BodiesNational Parks in India | International Airports in India  | United Nation International Years National Highways | National Birds of Countries | Sessions of Congress  | Facts About Kerala

Brief History of Television and Radio in India

Prasar Bharati
»  Prasar Bharati (प्रसार भारती); is India's largest public broadcasting agency.
»  It is an autonomous body set up by an Act of Parliament
»  It comprises Doordarshan Television Network and All India Radio which were earlier media units of the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting.
»  It was established in 1997.

 All India Radio 
» Radio broadcasting in India started in 1927 in Bombay and Calcutta with two privately owned transmitters.
»  All India Radio (AIR), officially known since 1956 as Ākāshvāī (literally, "Voice from the Sky"), is the national public radio broadcaster of India established in 1930.
»  The headquarters of AIR is the Akashvani Bhavan in New Delhi.
» The external services of All India Radio broadcast in 27 languages to countries outside India.

» Doordarshan had a modest beginning an experimental telecast starting in Delhi on 15 September 1959, with a small transmitter and a makeshift studio.
»  UNESCO gave the Indian Government $20,000 and 180 Philips TV sets.
»  Regular daily transmission started in 1965. National telecasts were introduced in 1982
»  The regular daily transmission started in 1965 as a part of All India Radio.
»  Doordarshan began a five-minute news bulletin in the same year in 1965.
»  Pratima Puri was the first newsreader.
»  The television service was extended to Bombay and Amritsar in 1972.
»  Color TV was introduced in the Indian with the live telecast of speech by Prime Minister Indira Gandhi on 15th August 1982, followed by the 1982 Asian Games.
»  Krishi Darshan was the first program telecast on Doordarshan in January 26, 1967.
»  “Hum Log” is longest weekly serial not Daily soap, with 154 episodes.
»  “Kyunki Saas Bhi Kabhi Bahu Thi” of Balaji Telefilms in STAR Plus Channel  is
India’s longest running television show till date,(July 3, 2000 – November 6, 2008) (1830 episodes).
»  Zee TV was the first privately-owned Indian channel to broadcast over cable followed by Asia Television Network (ATN).
»  Dish TV was the first Indian Satellite television.
»  DD India is the international broadcast of Doordarshan available internationally in 146 countries.
» India’s highest TV tower is at Peetambara, New Delhi. At 235 metres, it is three times taller than the Qutub Minar.
» Transmission of Question Hour of Parliament was commenced by Doordarshan in 1991. Today the Lok Sabha TV functions as a separate wing under Doordarshan.

Related Posts