Tropical Deciduous Forest |  Sectors of Indian Economy |  How Legislative Council is Formed |  Insectivorous Plants |  Causes of Revolt of 1857 in Points |  Ordinance Making Power of President and Governors |  Mangroves Cover in India |  Coral Reefs in India |  Seasons and Climate in India |  Constitutional and Statutory Bodies in India |  Rock Edicts of Ashoka |  Types of Motions in Parliamentary Procedure |  Types of Majorities in Parliament |  Pressure Groups in World and India |  Order of Precedence |  Types of Rocks |  Treaties in Indian History |  Types of Rocks |  Features of Indian Economy |  Geographical Indications |  Ancient History Terminology and Meanings |  Schedules of the Constitution |  Nuclear Power Plants in India List  |  Types of Clouds for SSC CGL | Nuclear Power Plants in India ListTypes of Ocean CurrentsStructure: Layers of EarthAPPSC Group 1 Answer KeySSC JE 2017 QUESTION PAPEROne Word Substitution for SSC and Bank ExamsMPSC Answer Key 2017 2017Layers of AtmosphereMPSC Answer Key 2017 2017BPSC Solved Question Paper 2017MPPSC Solved Question Paper 2017GST Bill IndiaDelhi SultanateLaw Commission of IndiaOscar Awards Winner 2017 ListDiseases in CropsCommon Drugs and UsesDifferent Types of Deserts in WorldUPSC Civil Services Exam-2016 Answer KeyUPSC CAPF Exam-2016 Answer Key | UPPSC UPPER Subordinate Exam-2016 Answer Key | Regulatory BodiesNational Parks in India | International Airports in India  | United Nation International Years National Highways | National Birds of Countries | Sessions of Congress  | Facts About Kerala

List of Regulatory Bodies with Headquarters in India

»  A regulatory agency (also regulatory authority, regulatory body or regulator) is a public authority or government agency responsible for exercising autonomous authority over some area of human activity in a regulatory or supervisory capacity.
»  An independent regulatory agency is a regulatory agency that is independent from other branches or arms of the government.
»  Regulatory agencies are usually a part of the executive branch of the government, and they have statutory authority to perform their functions with oversight from the legislative branch.
»  Their actions are generally open to legal review. Regulatory authorities are commonly set up to enforce standards and safety or to oversee use of public goods and regulate commerce.

»  Examples of regulatory agencies are RBI, SEBI, IRDAI, TRAI, FSSAI, CBFC etc.
List of Regulatory Bodies (Financial & Others) and their Headquarters
Regulatory Body
RBI – Reserve Bank of India
Banking & Finance, Monetary Policy
SEBI – Securities and Exchange Board of India
Securities (Stock) & Capital Market
IRDAI – Insurance Regulatory and Development Authority
PFRDA – Pension Fund Regulatory & Development Authority
New Delhi
NABARD – National Bank for Agriculture and Rural Development
Financing Rural Development
SIDBI – Small Industries Development Bank of India
Financing Micro, Small and Medium-Scale Enterprises
NHB – National Housing Bank
Financing Housing
New Delhi
TRAI – Telecom Regulatory Authority of India
Telecommunication & Tariffs
New Delhi
CBFC – Central Board of Film Certification
Film/TV Certification & Censorship
BCCI – Board of Control for Cricket in India
ASCI – Advertising Standards Council of India
BIS – Bureau of Indian Standards
Standards & Certification
New Delhi
FSSAI – Food Safety and Standards Authority of India
New Delhi
FSDC – Financial Stability and Development Council
Financial Sector Development
New Delhi
FIPB – Foreign Investment Promotion Board
Foreign Direct Investment
New Delhi
CDSCO- Central Drugs Standard Control Organization
 Pharmaceuticals and Medical devices
New Delhi

Frequently asked:
What is difference between Statutory and Constitutional body?
Statutory body is one created by an Act of Parliament or state Legislatures. Examples: Reserve Bank of India under the Reserve Bank of India Act, .State Bank of India under a similar Act. etc.
Constitutional body is a body which is formed to continue the objectives of the Constitution. Examples are Supreme and High Courts, Election Commission of india, Pay Commissions etc.

Who regulates the capital market in India?
The Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI) is the regulatory authority established under the SEBI Act 1992 and is the principal regulator for Stock Exchanges in India. SEBI's primary functions include protecting investor interests, promoting and regulating the Indian securities markets.

Who is the regulator of insurance sector in India?
Insurance Regulatory and Development Authority of India (IRDAI) is an autonomous apex statutory body which regulates and develops the insurance industry in India. It was constituted by a Parliament of India act called Insurance Regulatory and Development Authority Act, 1999 and duly passed by the Government of India.

See also:

Related Posts