Tropical Deciduous Forest |  Sectors of Indian Economy |  How Legislative Council is Formed |  Insectivorous Plants |  Causes of Revolt of 1857 in Points |  Ordinance Making Power of President and Governors |  Mangroves Cover in India |  Coral Reefs in India |  Seasons and Climate in India |  Constitutional and Statutory Bodies in India |  Rock Edicts of Ashoka |  Types of Motions in Parliamentary Procedure |  Types of Majorities in Parliament |  Pressure Groups in World and India |  Order of Precedence |  Types of Rocks |  Treaties in Indian History |  Types of Rocks |  Features of Indian Economy |  Geographical Indications |  Ancient History Terminology and Meanings |  Schedules of the Constitution |  Nuclear Power Plants in India List  |  Types of Clouds for SSC CGL | Nuclear Power Plants in India ListTypes of Ocean CurrentsStructure: Layers of EarthAPPSC Group 1 Answer KeySSC JE 2017 QUESTION PAPEROne Word Substitution for SSC and Bank ExamsMPSC Answer Key 2017 2017Layers of AtmosphereMPSC Answer Key 2017 2017BPSC Solved Question Paper 2017MPPSC Solved Question Paper 2017GST Bill IndiaDelhi SultanateLaw Commission of IndiaOscar Awards Winner 2017 ListDiseases in CropsCommon Drugs and UsesDifferent Types of Deserts in WorldUPSC Civil Services Exam-2016 Answer KeyUPSC CAPF Exam-2016 Answer Key | UPPSC UPPER Subordinate Exam-2016 Answer Key | Regulatory BodiesNational Parks in India | International Airports in India  | United Nation International Years National Highways | National Birds of Countries | Sessions of Congress  | Facts About Kerala

GST Council: Composition & Members List


» GST is a comprehensive indirect tax on manufacture, sale and consumption of goods and services throughout India to replace taxes levied by the central and state governments. It will have two components: Central GST and State GST. Central GST will replace Central excise duty, services tax and additional customs duties etc. and will be levied by the centre. State GST will replace VAT, Central State Tax, entertainment tax, luxury tax, lottery tax, electricity duty etc. and will be levied by the states.


» As per Article-279 (1) of the amended Constitution, the GST Council was to be constituted by the President within 60 days of the commencement of Article 279A. This is a joint forum of centre & state.

GST Council Members

» GST Council consists of the following members
1.  Union Finance Minister who will be the Chairperson (Currently Arun Jaitley)
2. The Union Minister of state, in-charge of Revenue of Finance (Currently Santosh Kumar Gangwar).
3. The Minister in charge of Finance or Taxation or any other Minister, nominated by each state government.

» The Secretary (Revenue) is the Ex-officio Secretary to GST Council.
» The Chairperson, Central Board of Excise and Custom (CBEC), is a permanent invitee (non voting) to all proceedings of the GST Council.
» The decisions will be made by a three-fourth majority of votes cast.
» The GST Council provides veto power to centre along with state governments.
» The centre shall have a third of votes cast, States shall together have two thirds
» The GST Council will make recommendations on:
1.  Taxes, cesses, and surcharges to be subsumed under the GST;
2. Goods and services which may be subject to, or exempt from GST;
3. The threshold limit of turnover for application of GST; rates of GST;
4. Model GST laws, principles of levy, apportionment of IGST and principles related to place of supply;
5. Special provisions with respect to the eight northeastern states, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, and Uttarakhand; and other related matters.

Related Posts