Tropical Deciduous Forest |  Sectors of Indian Economy |  How Legislative Council is Formed |  Insectivorous Plants |  Causes of Revolt of 1857 in Points |  Ordinance Making Power of President and Governors |  Mangroves Cover in India |  Coral Reefs in India |  Seasons and Climate in India |  Constitutional and Statutory Bodies in India |  Rock Edicts of Ashoka |  Types of Motions in Parliamentary Procedure |  Types of Majorities in Parliament |  Pressure Groups in World and India |  Order of Precedence |  Types of Rocks |  Treaties in Indian History |  Types of Rocks |  Features of Indian Economy |  Geographical Indications |  Ancient History Terminology and Meanings |  Schedules of the Constitution |  Nuclear Power Plants in India List  |  Types of Clouds for SSC CGL | Nuclear Power Plants in India ListTypes of Ocean CurrentsStructure: Layers of EarthAPPSC Group 1 Answer KeySSC JE 2017 QUESTION PAPEROne Word Substitution for SSC and Bank ExamsMPSC Answer Key 2017 2017Layers of AtmosphereMPSC Answer Key 2017 2017BPSC Solved Question Paper 2017MPPSC Solved Question Paper 2017GST Bill IndiaDelhi SultanateLaw Commission of IndiaOscar Awards Winner 2017 ListDiseases in CropsCommon Drugs and UsesDifferent Types of Deserts in WorldUPSC Civil Services Exam-2016 Answer KeyUPSC CAPF Exam-2016 Answer Key | UPPSC UPPER Subordinate Exam-2016 Answer Key | Regulatory BodiesNational Parks in India | International Airports in India  | United Nation International Years National Highways | National Birds of Countries | Sessions of Congress  | Facts About Kerala

List of Treaties in Indian History

Famous Treaties of Indian History

» Treaty is a a formally concluded and ratified agreement between states.
» Various treaties were signed in Indian History between kings.
» Some famous/important treaties in Indian history are Treaty of Asurar Ali, Treaty of Alinagar, Treaty of Madras, Treaty of Mangalore, Treaty of Lahore and Treaty Amritsar.
» Important treaties in Indian history are listed below.

List of Important Treaties in the History of India

Name of The Treaty
Treaty of Asurar Ali
The treaty established the boundary between the Mughal empire and the Ahom kingdom ending the Mughal's efforts to conquer Ahom.
Treaty of Purandar
The Treaty of Purandar was signed in 1665 between the Rajput ruler Jai Singh I, who was commander of the Mughal Empire, and Maratha Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj. Shivaji was forced to sign the agreement after Jai Singh besieged Purandar fort. When Shivaji realised that war with the Mughal Empire would only cause damage to the empire and that his men would suffer heavy losses, he choose to make a treaty.
Sangola Agreement
Henceforth the maratha king became the mayor of the place and the peshwa emerged as the real head of maratha federacy.
Treaty of Alinagar
Signed between Siraj-ud-dwala and Robert Clive allowing the British to fortify Calcutta and also allow British goods to pass through Bengal without duties.
Treaty of Paris
The french were defeated by the british company and its settlements were captured. The french possessions in india were ,however restored by this treaty.
Treaty of Allahabad
The Treaty of Allahabad was signed in 1765, between the Mughal Emperor Shah Alam II, son of the late Emperor Alamgir II, and Lord Robert Clive, of the East India Company, as a outcome of the Battle of Buxar of 1764. As per the terms of the agreement, Alam granted the East India Company Diwani rights, or the right to collect taxes on behalf of the Emperor from the eastern province of Bengal-Bihar-Orissa. This Treaty marks the political and constitutional involvement and the beginning of British rule in India.
Treaty of Madras
The Treaty of Madras was signed between the British and Hyder Ali of Mysore to bring to and end the first Mysore War. Under the treaty, both the parties agreed to return the areas won the each and to support each other in case of a thrid party invasion.
Treaty of Benaras
Between hastings and nawab of oudh. Allahabad was handed over to nawab.
Reaty of 1775  
On the death of shuja ud daula in 1775 , a new treaty was concluded with his successor , according to which a regular brigade  of the company's troops was stationed in oudh..
Treaty of Surat
Signed by raghunath rao with the bombay governament in the hope of help of english subsidiary troops in his flight for peshwaship
Treaty of Purandar
Signed between the British and the Marathas bringing the first phase of the First Anglo-Maratha War to an end.
Treaty of Wadgaon
Signed between the British and the Marathas bringing the second phase of the First Anglo-Maratha War to an end.
Treaty of Salbai
Signed between the British and the Marathas bringing the First Anglo-Maratha War to an end.
Treaty of Mangalore
The Treaty of Mangalore was signed between Tipu Sultan and the British East India Company on 11 March 1784. It was signed in Mangalore and brought an end to the Second Anglo-Mysore War.
Lord macartney ,governor of madras ,concluded with tipu the treaty of mangalore on the basis of mutual restriction of conquests and liberation of prisoners.
Treaty of Seringapatam
Signed between the British (Lord Cornwallis), the Marathas, Hyderabad and Tipu Sultan. This ended the Third Anglo-Mysore War allowing the Marathas, the Nizam of Hyderabad and the British to annex almost half of Tipu Sultan's territories.
Treaty of Bassein
 Signed by baji rao II  with the english after his defeat at the hands of holkar.
Treaty of Deogaon
Holkar gave up claims on the areas of company's allies.
Treaty of Amritsar  
Between ranjith singh and the english company , which fixed the river sutlej as the boundary of ranjith singh's authority.
Treaty of Sagauli
After the english victory over nepal , the treaty was signed . The nepal ruler gave up his claims to sikkim , ceded the disputed tarai tracts , and received a resident at khatmandu .
Treaty of Yandaboo
Great britain agreed to help iran with men and money against any european invader .
Treaty of Lahore
Signed between Governor General Air Henry Hardinge for the British and members of Lahore darbar representing the young Maharaja Duleep Singh Bahadur. The treaty marked the end of the First Anglo-Sikh War.
Treaty of Amritsar
The Treaty of Amritsar followed the Treaty of Lahore. By this treaty the British East India Company sold Kashmir to Maharaja Gulab Singh, whose dynasty ruled till 1947, when Maharaja Hari Singh acceded Kashmir to India.
Treaty of Bhirowal
By this treaty  , rani jindan was deprived of all powers and the administration was to be carried on by a ' council of regency ' composed of eight leading chiefs under the virtual dictatorship of the british resident .
See also:

Related Posts